Board of Directors

Upcoming Meetings and Agenda of the VSBIT Board

The next meeting of the VSBIT Board will be on August 27, 2020 @ 3:30 pm. This will be a remote and in-person meeting, please contact Laura Soares at, or call (802) 223-5040 extension 208 and leave a message for a return call with call-in instructions.

All meetings are held at the VSBIT office in Berlin, VT unless otherwise noted.

Future Meetings

October 22, 2020 @ 3:30 pm

Check this website for further information.

VSBIT Board Meeting Minutes

May 28, 2020 (unapproved)
December 18, 2019
November 7, 2018
December 8, 2017
May 26, 2020
November 19, 2019
October 1, 2018
September 19, 2017
May 19, 2020
October 10, 2019
May 21, 2018
May 1, 2017
April 30, 2020
May 22, 2019
April 16, 2018
April 3, 2017
February 19, 2020
April 3, 2019
February 26, 2018
February 27, 2017
January 30, 2020 February 22, 2019

Bob Giroux
Chair (term expires 2021)

Bob first joined the VSBIT Board in 2004 while serving as the business manager for Lamoille North Supervisory Union. He rejoined the Board in 2007. Bob is currently employed by the Vermont Municipal Bond Bank and the Vermont Education Health & Buildings Financing Agency. Bob serves as the Executive Director for the Bond Bank and Finance Agency. He holds a Master of Science in Administration from Saint Michael's College.

Brenda Fleming
(term expires 2020)

Brenda joined the VSBIT Board in 2012. She is presently employed as the Director of Business and Finance for the Rutland Northeast Supervisory Union, a position she has held since 1995. She is active in the Vermont association of School Business Officials and served on the executive committee for over 5 years including the President in 2004-2005. Brenda was one of three business managers who created the Business Manager 101 Training series that now support 10-15 new business managers annually. She also served on the Bingham Memorial School Board in Cornwall where she remains active in the school; currently teaching knitting in their after school program. Brenda received a Bachelor's Degree in Accounting and a Bachelor's Degree in English from Siena College in New York. She received her Certified Public Accountant (CPA) License in 1991 and continues to maintain licensure.

Steve Hier
(Term Expires 2020)

Steve joined the Board in 2018. He was employed as the Business Manager for the Springfield School District for 39 years before retiring at the end of August, 2019. Steve also served nine years on the Town of Weathersfield school board including six years as Chair. During six of those years he was also on the Windsor Southeast Supervisory Union Board with four years as Chair. He was active in the Vermont Association of School Business Officials and served three terms as its President. Steve was part of the revitalization of that organization in the late 1980’s. He is currently working part time for the Rivendell Interstate School District and as the Town Treasurer for the Town of Weathersfield. He previously served on the VSBIT board from 1995 to 2002 and from 2005 to 2012.

Michael Clark
(Term Expires 2021)
Michael Bailey
(Term Expires 2022)

Mike was born in Europe to parents stationed there for his father’s Air Force service. His family moved to the Louisiana when he was 3, then to Vermont when he was 10. He graduated from Spaulding High School in Barre and attended UVM and Trinity College.

Mike worked for IBM for 25 years, starting out in Manufacturing, then moving to Engineering. He held several positions before getting into management, first in Manufacturing and ultimately in Engineering. His work gained him experience in contract management and administration, as well in international business when working with suppliers in Japan.

Mike’s next career was with the Vermont Department of Education, which is now the Vermont Agency of Education. He was hired as a data analyst and was responsible for submission of student and school information to the US Department of Education. He also was asked to perform an analysis of the Special Education data systems.

When the funding for that position evaporated, he moved to School Finance, where he worked with Business Managers on Education Tax Reconciliations. Mike ultimately moved into position of Special Education Data Manager, responsible for working with personnel in schools and Supervisory Union offices to get the data required for submission to the US Department of Education and to the State Board of Education. This included student and program information as well as financial reporting.

Mike retired from the Agency of Education in December of 2017, and now works with the Vermont House Judiciary Committee during the Legislative Session. He has been a School Board member in 2015, being appointed to an empty seat on the Northfield Board. He continued on that Board, and was elected to serve on the Paine Mountain School District (merger of Northfield and Williamstown) Board when voters approved the merger. He was elected Chair of the Central Vermont SU Board at it’s first meeting, and became Chair of the Paine Mountain Board in March, 2019.

Mike is married and enjoys traveling around the US as well as abroad.